Mount Washington Auto Road, Gorham NH

Hours and
Dates of Operation  

Current Weather and Road Status

 

2021 DRIVE YOURSELF OPERATING HOURS

** ALSO SEE Special Hours of Operation BELOW **

Closing times listed below are the last time cars are allowed to start up the Auto Road; ALL vehicles must leave the summit no later than 45 minutes after closing time and continue directly to the base. Operation of the Auto Road is always weather permitting.

Early Season

Closed until May 29

May 29 - June 18

8:00am - 5:00pm

June 19 - August 29 8:00am - 6:00pm
August 30 - October 3 8:00am - 5:00pm
October 4 - October 24 8:00am - 4:00pm

 

For More Information About Drive Yourself >


2021 PEAK OPERATION TIMES

 

4th of July Weekend

Friday, July 2 - Monday, July 5

 

Labor Day Weekend

Friday, September 3 - Monday, September 6

 

Fall Foliage

October 1 - October 24

2021 SPECIAL HOURS OF OPERATION

 


Saturday, June 19

Sunday, June 20

 

 

Northeast Delta Dental Mount Washington Road Race 

 Road open from 1:30pm - 6:00pm

 


Saturday, June 26

 

 

NH ATV Day

 Road open to ATVs only; closed for Drive Yourself automobiles.

Guided Tours operating, reservations required. 


Sunday, 
July 25

 Sunday, August 29

 

 

Sunrise Drive

 July 25th open from 4:00am - 6:00pm 

August 29th open from 4:30am - 6:00pm  

 


Sunday, August 1

 

 

Adaptive Sunrise Ascent

 Road open from 11:00am - 6:00pm   

 


Friday, August 13

 

 

Subaru Mt. Washington Hillclimb
Climb to the Clouds

 Road open from 1:00 - 6:00 pm

 


Saturday, August 14

 

 

Subaru Mt. Washington Hillclimb
Climb to the Clouds

 Road open from 1:00 - 6:00 pm

 


Sunday, August 15

 

 

Subaru Mt. Washington Hillclimb
Climb to the Clouds

Road is CLOSED all Day to all Traffic

 


Saturday, August 21

 

 

Mt. Washington Bicycle Hillclimb

 Road open from 1:30pm - 6:00pm
(Rain date: Sunday, August 22) 

 

For More Information About Drive Yourself >


2021 2-HOUR GUIDED TOUR OPERATING HOURS

Summer Operations
Opening May 29 - October 24
Reserve online!

2-Hour Guided Tours may be available without a reservation on a first-come, first-serve basis when advanced bookings have not sold all available seats. 

 

Book your 2-Hour Guided Tour today >


 2021 HIKER SHUTTLE

Summer Operations

Limited operations—visit the Hiker Shuttle page for detailed information

 

 

If you have any questions about the Hours & Dates of Operation at the Auto Road, please call us at (603) 466-3988.